Office of the President

 Jon C. Strauss is the 11th president of Paul Smith’s College. He began serving July 15, 2020 in an interim role.

Dr. Jon Calvert Strauss currently serves in an interim capacity to provide executive leadership and advance the college’s strategic plan while the institution embarks on a comprehensive search process to replace prior president Dr. Cathy S. Dove. The appointment of Dr. Strauss was approved unanimously by the college’s Board of Trustees.

“I am delighted to welcome Jon to the Paul Smith’s community,” said Mark Dzwonczyk, Board of Trustees chair. “His track record, depth of experience, and enthusiasm for the college make him an ideal leader to build on the terrific foundation built by Cathy along with our talented faculty and staff during her tenure. At a time when all colleges are facing uncertainty due to COVID-19, Jon’s experience at a number of institutions in challenging situations has provided him with expertise in areas such as communications, finance, management, fundraising, technology, and organizational culture to lead Paul Smith’s forward with creativity and a steady hand.”

In addition to serving as president of Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Harvey Mudd College, and Manhattanville College, Strauss served as Vice President at the University of Pennsylvania, and Senior Vice President at the University of Southern California. His long career includes membership on the National Science Board, where he was Chair of Polar Research; CFO of HHMI, then the nation’s largest private philanthropy; and work on the 1984 Summer Olympic Games. He and his wife Jean are avid rowers and hikers and are impressed with the PSC community’s commitment to education, the environment, sports – and one another.

“I am thrilled to have been selected for this role,” said Strauss. “Paul Smith’s College is a remarkable institution that delivers truly meaningful career-focused education to the students that it serves, many of whom are the first in their families to attend college. Thanks to the innovation and dedication of PSC’s faculty and staff, exciting growth initiatives to shape the college’s future are already bearing fruit. It’s my honor to be part of such an important mission.”

Strauss holds a B.S. in Electrical Engineering (University of Wisconsin), M.S. in Physics (University of Pittsburgh), and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering (Carnegie Institute of Technology). Jon, his wife Jean, a noted author and filmmaker and former national champion double-sculler, and their dog Bear will relocate from East Brookfield, MA. They are excited to make Paul Smith’s their home for the coming year and look forward to engaging with the entire PSC community.

Senior Leadership Team
  • Jon C. Strauss, Interim President
  • Michael Beccaria, Interim Vice President, Enrollment
  • Courtney Bringley, Dean of Students
  • Steven Frederick, Vice President, College Advancement
  • Nicholas Hunt-Bull, Provost
  • Janet Waldron, Finance and Administration

Office of the President
Phelps Smith Administration Building
Room 202
(518) 327-6223
Open Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Kathleen Keck
Office of the President
Assistant to the Board of Trustees
(518) 327-6223